Two SUNYIT students receive Chancellor's Award

Two SUNYIT students receive Chancellor's Award

Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 16:00
News Releases
SUNY Poly News Logo

SUNYIT students Rachel Barbato of Westernville and Brittani Howell of Whitney Point have received this year’s Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence. The two were among more than 270 students from across the state honored April 2 at a ceremony in Albany recognizing Chancellor’s Award recipients and community college students earning Phi Theta Kappa honors.

[caption id="attachment_8811" align="alignleft" width="211"] RachelChancellorsAward72.jpg L to R: Chancellor Zimpher, Rachel Barbato, and Marybeth Lyons[/caption]

“Students honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, and those recognized by Phi Theta Kappa, truly embody the power of SUNY,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “As proven leaders and role models, scholar athletes, creative artists, and civic volunteers, each student is recognized not just for academic achievement, but also for the profound impact they have on college campuses and local communities across New York State. Congratulations to the students being recognized today.”

Barbato, a senior majoring in psychology, helped found a community engagement initiative aimed at encouraging intellectual discourse and educational programs. Howell, a senior majoring in interdisciplinary studies, served as president of the Student Association, was named to the president’s list and was a Resident Advisor.

[caption id="" align="alignright" width="228"] BrittaniHowellChancellors72.jpg L to R: Chancellor Zimpher, Brittani Howell, and Marybeth Lyons[/caption]

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created in 1997 to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and have been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement, or career achievement.

Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee, which reviews exemplary students. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor’s Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the Chancellor to become recipients of the award. Each recipient receives a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.